WordPress blocked in China… but so is everything else…

China_noblogs

This may not be news to others but it’s news to me and I’m very annoyed by it. A friend of mine just messaged me from China saying he can’t access my blog. Searched around on Google and of course, China’s net army blocks all access to WordPress blogs. My immediate reaction was, if I had known, I would’ve gone with Blogger or Typepad instead of WordPress – that definitely wasn’t on my price performance checklist. A little more Googling and I found out that Blogger & Typepad are also blocked in China – not surprised but still very annoyed! I guess the easiest way to get around this is to host your own blog and steer clear of posting any Tiananmen Square pictures (oops!).

1 Response to “WordPress blocked in China… but so is everything else…”


  1. 1 Jeremy March 21, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    It’s interesting to see this post because not only did I experiencing the blocking myself while I was in Beijing in December of 07′, I also coincidentally decided to write about China’s filtering system earlier today. I would love to hear your comments.

    http://seattleventures.blogspot.com/2008/03/china-content-filtering.html


Leave a Reply

This Blog has moved…

new address: www.leo-chen.com Please update your RSS accordingly. Thx!

test test test


